September 1, 2022

Goodwin Elected Black Hills Chapter President

Retired Army
Lieutenant Colonel Tim Goodwin (shown at left) has been elected new President of the MOAA Black Hills Chapter.  He replaces Commander Larry Miller, who earlier announced that he would be stepping down at the Annual Meeting.  Miller has served as President since April of 2019.  The election took place at the BHC Annual Meeting on Friday, August 19 at the Rushmore Hotel & Suites.

Most recently, Colonel Goodwin was in the South Dakota Legislature, serving as Majority Whip in the House of Representatives.  He represented Pennington, Custer, and Fall River Counties.

All of the other incumbent chapter officers were re-elected.  They include Vice-President CAPT Roger Whorton, Secretary LCDR Bonnie Walker, and Treasurer COL Robert Mallow.  All will serve another two-year term, per the existing bylaws.
Brief annual reports were also presented to the membership from the Membership and Legislative Committees, as well as summary reports from the President, Secretary, and Treasurer.  More details will be forthcoming.

Following his volunteering to facilitate an ad hoc Bylaws Committee, COL Ashok Kumar was appointed by President Miller to chair that committee, which has already begun working on reviewing and revising, as necessary, the current bylaws, which were adopted in 2010.  Kumar also serves as Co-Chairman of the Membership Committee.  

The next Black Hills Chapter meeting will be an 11:30 luncheon meeting on Friday, October 14 at the Rushmore Hotel & Suites in Rapid City