October 8, 2022

Goodwin is new President for MOAA Black Hills Chapter

Retired Army
Lieutenant Colonel Tim Goodwin (shown at left) was elected President of the MOAA Black Hills Chapter  on August 19th.  He replaces Commander Larry Miller, who earlier announced that he would be stepping down at the Annual Meeting.  Miller has served as President since April of 2019.  The election took place during the Annual Meeting of the chapter, which was held  at the Rushmore Hotel & Suites in Rapid City.

Most recently, Colonel Goodwin was in the South Dakota Legislature, serving as Majority Whip in the House of Representatives.  He represented Pennington, Custer, and Fall River Counties.

All of the other incumbent chapter officers were re-elected.  They include Vice-President CAPT Roger Whorton, Secretary LCDR Bonnie Walker, and Treasurer COL Robert Mallow.  All will serve another two-year term, per the existing bylaws.
Brief annual reports were also presented to the membership from the Membership and Legislative Committees, as well as summary reports from the President, Secretary, and Treasurer.  More details will be forthcoming.

Following his volunteering to facilitate an ad hoc Bylaws Committee, COL Ashok Kumar was appointed by President Miller to chair that committee, which has already begun working on reviewing and revising, as necessary, the current bylaws, which were adopted in 2010.  Kumar also serves as Co-Chairman of the Membership Committee.